First Generation Mexican-American living life in the US.

Recently I went a Latin Dance Social and can I tell you…it was amazing! I found out about it on facebook because an ad for it randomly came up. And I’ve also been using this app called Meetup. It sounds odd but it actually is pretty neat. Pretty much you put in hobbies that you like (movies, books, hiking, coffee, dancing, music, etc.) and then you join groups around your area and you try to meetup with people. It’s kinda like an online site to meet new people who have the same interests as you.

First there was an intro class, but I don’t need THAT much of an intro. I kinda already know how to dance salsa; it runs in my blood! Not literally (can you imagine salsa sauce going through your veins?) but I am latina and music is pretty important in our culture. When you put Latin music on, it just calls to us. You begin to shake your hips and just go with the beat. But I do have trouble knowing when to do certain moves when dancing with someone else because I’m used to twirling around by myself in the kitchen while I’m cooking or cleaning.

After the intro part, everyone began dancing. The one thing that stood out to me the most was that everyone danced with each other. The old and the young. Men would ask the women to dance and they would go out and dance on the dance floor! It wasn’t creepy at all like when you go to the club and some dude just comes up behind you and bumps and grinds with you without even asking you. #askfirst. 

Anyways, everyone danced the night away with Salsa, Bachata, and even the Cha-Cha-Cha. The organizer of the group was so nice and welcoming as well so that definitely made me want to try taking lessons with her.

There was also a special performance by this woman and man, who by the way, were AH-MAZING and I want to be just as good as they were on Saturday night. #lifegoals I can’t tell you how much I love the way Latin music makes me feel. I love how all music makes me feel. Music is life.

Leave a Reply

